• Pottawattamie County


    Govt Org

    About Us

    Modern-day Pottawattamie County evolved out of the Pottawattamie Purchase of 1847. It was named after the Native American tribe Potawatomi, that once possessed the Iowa Territory. Potawatomi is a Native American term meaning “Keepers of the Council Fires,” or “Makers of Fire.” Pottawattamie County is honored to carry on their name as one tribe of many that was forged by the flames of settlement. Just like the Potawatomi rose from the ashes and found a home here, you too can Find Your Fire in Pottawattamie County.

    Pottawattamie County is located in the southwest corner of Iowa. The county seat is in the city of Council Bluffs. Other cities in Pottawattamie County include Avoca, Carson, Carter Lake, Crescent, Hancock, Macedonia, McClelland, Minden, Neola, Oakland, Shelby, Treynor, Underwood, and Walnut.


    911 Telecommunicator
    Category: Telecommunications
    A career working as a 911 Telecommunicator is not only challenging, but extremely rewarding. Many say it is a calling.The Pottawattamie County Sheriff's Office is looking for dedicated individuals who value integrity and leadership to serve the citizens of Pottawattamie County. 911 Telecommunicators work directly with the public, law enforcement, fire departments, and various other public safety ...read more
    Contact: Heather Shafer
    Phone:(712) 328-5644
    Fax:(712) 328-5770

    Rep/Contact Info

    Card image cap
    View Personal Bio
    Craig Carlsen
    Public Relations Manager